LSA New Lecturer Orientation Fall 2023

6th Annual New Lecturer Orientation

Wednesday, August 23, 2023

Michigan League (map)

2:15 p.m. - 6:00 p.m. 

Registration is now closed for 2023.

The LSA New Lecturer Orientation is designed for Lecturers I and III who are new to LSA to learn about relevant LSA policies and resources that can support them in their teaching, teach them more about setting up course technology, and allow them to talk with experienced LSA lecturers about U-M culture and resources. We hope this is a starting point for lecturers to build community among themselves across departments. 


2:15 pm - 2:25 pm

Official Dean's Welcome to Michigan and the Michigan Teaching Community

Anne Curzan, Dean, LSA

Tim McKay, Associate Dean for Undergraduate Education, LSA

 Koessler, 3rd floor
2:25 pm - 3:20 pm

"What do I do when...?"

Tim McKay, Associate Dean for Undergraduate Education, LSA

Perry Fittrer, Assistant Dean for Undergraduate Education, LSA

Sarah Daniels, Associate Dean of Students, Dean of Students Office

Allen Sheffield, Associate Director, Student Accessibility and Accommodation Services

Christine O'Neil, Deputy Assistant Dean, Student Academic Affairs

Janelle Zora, Mental Health and Well-Being Student Advocate

 Koessler, 3rd floor
3:20 pm - 3:30 pm


3:30 pm - 4:00 pm

Instructional Support Services Session: Support Highlights

Emily Ravenwood, Manager of Learning and Teaching Technology Consultation Services

 Koessler, 3rd floor
4:00 pm - 4:30 pm

Table Talk with Experienced Lecturers

Katie Jodl, Lecturer IV in Psychology

Sascha Crasnow, Lecturer II in the Residential College

Nicole Tuttle, Lecturer III in Chemistry/Comprehensive Studies

Maria Dorantes, Lecturer IV in Romance Languages & Literatures

Tricia Khleif, Lecturer II in English Language and Literature

 Koessler, 3rd floor
4:30 pm - 5:00 pm
 Henderson, 3rd floor
5:00 pm - 6:00 pm

LEO Lecturer's Union

 Koessler, 3rd floor

Frequently Asked Questions


This event is taking place in person in the Michigan League, with additional resources, materials, and activities in Canvas. If you would benefit from other accommodations, please let us know as soon as possible by emailing Malini Dasgupta (


After registration, the NLO planning team will send New Lecturers an invitation to the Canvas site where you will be able to view resources and interact with colleagues. If you have any issues with registration or any questions about navigating Canvas, please contact Malini Dasgupta (